APNI’s mission includes the recognition and support of excellence in plant nutrition research in Africa. Below you will find information on the awards that are currently available.

African Plant Nutrition Scholar Awards

Awards of USD $2,000 each are available to ten deserving African graduate students in sciences relevant to plant nutrition and management of crop nutrients. The Award will be made directly to the student. No specific duties will be required of the recipient. The Award will be granted independent of any assistantship, scholarship, or other award that the student currently holds.

Our 2024 application period opened in March

African Phosphorus Fellowships

Awards of USD $5,000 each are available to five early-career scientists working in an African NARES institution (National Agricultural Research and Extension System) or African university. The award is to encourage scientific programs relevant to understanding and improving phosphorus (P) management in agro-ecosystems.

Our call for application opened in May 2024.

African Plant Nutrient Outreach Awards

Awards of USD $5,000 each are available to two innovative African scientists, extension specialists, or educators. The Award will support education, training, and communication programs relevant to improving the use and efficiency of plant nutrients in African agro-ecosystems.

The next call for applications is anticipated for July 2024. Please check back.

African Plant Nutrient Research Fund

The African Plant Nutrition Institute (APNI) is a research fund in support of plant nutrition research in Africa. The African Plant Nutrition Research Fund was created through partnership between the African Plant Nutrition Institute and Mohammed VI Polytechnic University (

The African Plant Nutrition Research Fund accepts preliminary project proposals on an annual basis that benefit African agriculture. Details are provided at

No call for proposals is anticipated for 2024. Check back for further updates.

APNI Precision Agriculture Awards

The APNI Precision Agriculture Awards include two cash awards of USD 2,500 that are available in both Senior Scientist and Early Career Scientist divisions in recognition of outstanding activity in the field of precision agriculture research, outreach, or education in Africa.

This is a biennial award that is offered in conjunction with the African Conference for Precision Agriculture. The next conference is anticipated on 2024.