Notre comité consultatif scientifique

Notre comité consultatif scientifique

Fatiha Charradi, MBA, ing. - Vice-président des systèmes agricoles, Groupe OCP, Casablanca, Maroc

Fatiha Charradi est vice-président du développement agricole du groupe OCP. Elle est une leader expérimentée et une ardente défenseure des entrepreneurs et des agriculteurs. Sa mission est de dle développement de modèles commerciaux, d'approches, de solutions et de services nouveaux et innovants pour l'agriculture en phase avec la mission et l'ambition de son entreprise «Farmer Intimacy». Charradi est diplômé en tant qu'ingénieur ICT de l'Ecole Mohammadia des Ingénieurs. Elle est titulaire d'un MBA de l'École Nationale des Ponts et Chaussées de Paris, d'un Certificat en Management Stratégique et Géopolitique d'HEC Paris et de Certificats en Management Exécutif et Leadership du MIT en 2014 et 2018. En 2014, Fatiha a été identifiée par l'Institut Choiseul parmi les Jeunes leaders africains de 40 ans et moins, qui joueront un rôle majeur dans le développement de l'Afrique dans un futur proche. En 2016, Fatiha a été sélectionnée pour participer au Programme régional d'accélération de l'entrepreneuriat (REAP) de la prestigieuse université MIT afin de contribuer à l'émergence d'écosystèmes entrepreneuriaux forts dans différentes régions du Maroc. En tant qu'intrapreneur, Fatiha a passé 19 ans dans de grandes entreprises marocaines et multinationales. En 2011, elle est nommée directrice générale du fonds OCP pour l'innovation agricole. Fatiha Charradi est également membre du conseil d'administration de nombreuses institutions nationales et internationales, membre du conseil d'administration de H-Seven, un accélérateur africain (https://www.hseven.co/), directeur non exécutif d'iSDA (Solutions d'innovation pour l'agriculture décisionnelle, https://www.isda-africa.com) et membre actif de nombreuses ONG locales et initiatives sociales.

Simon Cook, Ph.D. - Professeur, universités Curtin et Murdoch, Perth Australie

Dr Simon Cook est un scientifique fortement interdisciplinaire qui s'intéresse à des sujets tels que l'agriculture numérique, l'agriculture de précision et le développement de systèmes mondiaux d'alimentation et d'eau durables. Formé aux universités de Swansea, Reading et Cambridge au Royaume-Uni, il a déménagé en 1990 au CSIRO Australie pour développer des méthodes numériques de cartographie des sols. Lors de son passage au CSIRO, il a construit une équipe pour développer une agriculture de précision pour les céréales, le raisin et la canne à sucre. En 2000, il a rejoint le groupe SIG du Centre international d'agriculture tropicale [CIAT] en Colombie, où il a été impliqué dans des programmes de recherche à l'échelle mondiale pour soutenir le développement agricole, y compris le programme Challenge pour l'eau et l'alimentation et le programme du CGIAR sur l'eau. , Land and Ecosystems, dont il était le premier directeur. En 2016, il est retourné en Australie pour occuper un poste de professeur aux universités Curtin et Murdoch en tant que boursier du premier ministre d'Australie occidentale, où il a lancé des recherches sur l'agriculture numérique et l'expérimentation à la ferme. Il vit à Perth, en Australie et à Cali, en Colombie.

Achim Dobermann, Ph.D. - Scientifique en chef, International Fertilizer Association, Paris, France

En tant que scientifique en chef, Dr Achim Dobermann fournit des conseils scientifiques stratégiques à l'International Fertilizer Association (IFA) et à ses membres sur la promotion d'une nutrition végétale responsable et l'amélioration de la gestion des nutriments dans le monde entier. Il a été directeur et PDG de Rothamsted Research au Royaume-Uni (2014-2019), directeur général adjoint de l'Institut international de recherche sur le riz (IRRI, 2008-2014), professeur de science du sol et de gestion des nutriments à l'Université du Nebraska-Lincoln, États-Unis (2000-2007) et en tant que spécialiste des nutriments du sol à l'IRRI (1992-2000). Il a obtenu sa maîtrise en agriculture tropicale et son doctorat en sciences du sol de l'Université de Leipzig en Allemagne. Le Dr Dobermann a plus de 30 ans d'expérience sur le terrain dans toutes les régions du monde sur la science et la technologie pour une agriculture durable, avec un accent particulier sur la science du sol, la nutrition des plantes et l'agronomie. Il a publié sur un large éventail de questions agricoles et dirige également un cours en ligne ouvert massif sur Nourrir une planète affamée: agriculture, nutrition et durabilité. Il croit que prendre des risques, travailler sur le terrain et être critique et altruiste sont les éléments les plus importants pour réussir dans la recherche agricole.

Ken Giller, Ph.D. - Professeur de systèmes de production végétale, Université de Wageningen, Pays-Bas

Dr Ken Giller est professeur de Systèmes de production végétale à l'Université de Wageningen. Il dirige un groupe de scientifiques possédant une expérience approfondie de l'application de l'analyse des systèmes pour explorer les futurs scénarios d'utilisation des terres en mettant l'accent sur la production alimentaire, y compris les impacts du changement climatique. La recherche de Ken se concentre sur les systèmes agricoles des petits exploitants en Afrique subsaharienne. Un accent particulier est mis sur les problèmes de fertilité des sols et le rôle de la fixation de l'azote dans les légumineuses tropicales, l'accent étant mis sur la dynamique temporelle et spatiale des ressources au sein des systèmes de culture / élevage et leurs interactions. Il dirige un certain nombre d'initiatives telles que N2Africa - Mettre la fixation de l'azote au service des petits exploitants agricoles en Afrique - http://www.n2africa.org/ financé par la fondation et le partenariat public-privé mondial sur le cacao - www.CocoaSoils.org. Ken est membre du comité consultatif d'Unilever sur l'approvisionnement durable. Il est coprésident du Réseau thématique 7 sur l'agriculture et les systèmes alimentaires durables du Réseau de solutions de développement durable (SDSN) des Nations Unies. Ken a rejoint l'Université de Wageningen en tant que président des systèmes de production végétale en 2001 après avoir été professeur au Wye College, à l'Université de Londres et à l'Université du Zimbabwe.

Lucy Muchoki, PDG du Consortium panafricain de l'agro-industrie et de l'agro-industrie (PanAAC), Nairobi, Kenya

Lucy Muchoki est le président-directeur général de Consortium panafricain de l'agrobusiness et de l'agroindustrie (PanAAC), une organisation panafricaine du secteur privé créée pour soutenir l'agro-industrie africaine grâce à une productivité et une compétitivité accrues sur le marché régional et mondial. Elle est également la coordinatrice de Kenya Agribusiness and Agroindustry Alliance, la section nationale de PanAAC. Elle est également présidente nationale du comité technique des affaires à la Chambres nationales de commerce et d'industrie du Kenya. Lucy est une spécialiste des sciences sociales avec une maîtrise en stratégie et gestion d'entreprise. Mme Muchoki est actuellement membre du groupe de travail de l'Union africaine récemment formé pour soutenir l'organisation de la plate-forme régionale de l'agrobusiness pour mobiliser et soutenir le secteur privé national en Afrique. Elle a précédemment servi sous le ministère de l'Industrialisation au Kenya, en tant que membre du secteur privé représentant Agroprocessing. En plus de cela, elle a siégé dans divers conseils consultatifs et membre du comité de pilotage de diverses organisations de direction du secteur agroalimentaire aux niveaux régional et mondial. Son principal programme est de plaider pour l'inclusion et le leadership du secteur privé national en tant que moteur du développement agricole en Afrique. Lucy est également une entrepreneure accomplie et fait du commerce de produits horticoles, de thé et d'herbes. Elle siège au conseil d'administration de la Micro Small Enterprises Authority, la seule institution mandatée en vertu de la loi du Parlement pour soutenir le développement des entreprises sous la pyramide au Kenya.

Michael Wironen, Ph.D. - Scientifique principal en agriculture et systèmes alimentaires, The Nature Conservancy, Washington, DC

Dr Michael Wironen est chercheur principal au Centre pour la science de la durabilité de The Nature Conservancy. À ce titre, il assure le leadership technique et stratégique des collaborations avec le secteur agroalimentaire pour stimuler les investissements dans l'intensification durable de l'agriculture. Son portefeuille comprend des projets locaux pour améliorer la santé des sols, augmenter l'efficacité de l'utilisation des ressources et protéger l'habitat au Kenya, au Brésil, en Argentine, aux États-Unis, en Chine et en Inde. Dans ce rôle, il a collaboré avec des entreprises telles que Syngenta, Walmart, AB InBev et McDonald's. En tant que responsable scientifique de la collaboration Syngenta, le Dr Wironen a contribué à sécuriser et à structurer l'engagement de 2 milliards de dollars de Syngenta à investir dans l'innovation technologique pour soutenir l'agriculture durable. Avant de rejoindre TNC, M. Wironen a travaillé pour un cabinet de conseil privé, où il a dirigé des projets de développement durable et d'action climatique avec un éventail de clients des secteurs privé et public aux États-Unis et en Afrique. Il est titulaire d'un doctorat en sciences des ressources naturelles de l'Université du Vermont et a publié des articles sur le cycle des nutriments dans les forêts et les agroécosystèmes, entre autres sujets.

EnglishFrançais

Our Scientific Advisory Committee

Our Scientific Advisory Committee

Fatiha Charradi, M.B.A., Eng. - Vice President Farming Systems, OCP Group, Casablanca, Morocco

Fatiha Charradi is Vice President of Farming Development for OCP Group. She is an experienced leader and a passionate advocate for entrepreneurs and farmers. Her mission is to development new and innovative business models, approaches, solutions and services for farming in line with her company’s mission and ambition of “Farmer Intimacy.” Charradi graduated as an ICT Engineer from Ecole Mohammadia des Ingénieurs. She holds an MBA from École Nationale des Ponts et Chaussées in Paris, a Certificate in Strategic Management and Geopolitics from HEC Paris, and Certificates in Executive Management and Leadership from MIT in 2014 and 2018. In 2014, Fatiha was identified by the Choiseul Institute among Young African leaders of 40 years and under, who will play a major role in the development of Africa in the near future. In 2016, Fatiha was selected to participate in the Regional Entrepreneurship Acceleration Program (REAP) of the prestigious MIT University to contribute to the emergence of strong entrepreneurial ecosystems in different regions of Morocco. As an intrapreneur, Fatiha spent 19 years in major Moroccan and multinational companies. In 2011, she was appointed Chief Executive Officer of the OCP Fund for Agricultural Innovation. Fatiha Charradi is also a board member of many national and international institutions, a board member of H-Seven, an African Accelerator (https://www.hseven.co/), a Non Executive Director of iSDA (Innovation solutions for Decision Agriculture, https://www.isda-africa.com) and an active member in many local NGOs and social initiatives.

Simon Cook, Ph.D. - Professor, Curtin and Murdoch Universities, Perth Australia

Dr. Simon Cook is a strongly inter-disciplinary scientist with interests in subjects such as digital agriculture, precision agriculture, and the development of sustainable global food and water systems. Trained at Swansea, Reading and Cambridge Universities in in the UK, he moved in 1990 to CSIRO Australia to develop digital methods of soil mapping. During his time at CSIRO, he built a team to develop precision agriculture for grains, grapes and sugar cane. In 2000 he moved to the GIS Group at the International Center for Tropical Agriculture [CIAT] in Colombia, where he was drawn into global-scale research programs to support agricultural development, including the Challenge Program for Water and Food and the CGIAR program on Water, Land and Ecosystems, where he was the inaugural director. In 2016 he returned to Australia to take up a professorship at Curtin and Murdoch Universities as the Western Australian Premier’s Fellow, where he initiated research on digital agriculture and on-farm experimentation. He lives in Perth, Australia and Cali, Colombia.

Achim Dobermann, Ph.D. - Chief Scientist, International Fertilizer Association, Paris, France

As Chief Scientist, Dr. Achim Dobermann provides strategic scientific advice to the International Fertilizer Association (IFA) and its members on promoting responsible plant nutrition and enhancing nutrient stewardship worldwide. He served as Director & CEO of Rothamsted Research in the UK (2014-2019), Deputy Director General of the International Rice Research Institute (IRRI, 2008-2014), Professor of Soil Science and Nutrient Management at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA (2000-2007), and as a Soil Nutrient Specialist at IRRI (1992-2000). He received his MSc in Tropical Agriculture and PhD in Soil Science from the University of Leipzig in Germany. Dr. Dobermann has over 30 years of field experience working in every region of the world on science and technology for sustainable farming, with particular emphasis on soil science, plant nutrition and agronomy. He has published on a wide range of agricultural issues and also leads a Massive Open Online Course on Feeding a Hungry Planet: Agriculture, Nutrition and Sustainability. He believes that taking risks, working in the field, and being critical and unselfish are the most important things for succeeding in agricultural research.

Ken Giller, Ph.D. - Professor of Plant Production Systems, Wageningen University, Netherlands

Dr. Ken Giller is Professor of Plant Production Systems at Wageningen University. He leads a group of scientists with profound experience in applying systems analysis to explore future scenarios for land use with a focus on food production, including impacts of climate change. Ken’s research focuses on smallholder farming systems in sub-Saharan Africa. Particular emphasis is given to problems of soil fertility and the role of nitrogen fixation in tropical legumes, with emphasis on the temporal and spatial dynamics of resources within crop/livestock farming systems and their interactions. He leads a number of initiatives such as N2Africa – Putting Nitrogen Fixation to Work for Smallholder Farmers in Africa – http://www.n2africa.org/ funded by the foundation and the global public-private partnership on cocoa – www.CocoaSoils.org. Ken is member of the Unilever Sustainable Sourcing Advisory Board. He is co-chair of the Thematic Network 7 on Sustainable Agriculture and Food Systems of the Sustainable Development Solutions Network (SDSN) of the United Nations. Ken joined Wageningen University as Chair of Plant Production Systems in 2001 after holding professorships at Wye College, University of London, and the University of Zimbabwe.

Lucy Muchoki, CEO Pan African Agribusiness and Agroindustry Consortium (PanAAC), Nairobi, Kenya

Lucy Muchoki is the Chief Executive Officer of Pan African Agribusiness and Agroindustry Consortium (PanAAC), a Pan African Private Sector organization created to support the African Agribusiness through enhanced productivity and competitiveness in the regional and global market. She is also the coordinator of Kenya Agribusiness and Agroindustry Alliance, KAAA the national chapter of PanAAC. She also serves as the National Chair of the Technical Business Committee at the Kenya National Chambers of Commerce and Industries. Lucy is a social scientist with a master’s degree in strategy and business management. Ms. Muchoki is currently a member of the recently formed African Union task force to support the organization of Regional Agribusiness platform for mobilizing and supporting the domestic private sector in Africa. She has previously served under the Ministry of Industrialization in Kenya, as the private sector member representing Agroprocessing. Beside this, she has been serving in various advisory councils and steering committee member for various Agribusiness leadership organizations both at regional and global level. Her main agenda is to advocate for the inclusion and leadership of the domestic private sector as the driver of agricultural development in Africa. Lucy is also an accomplished entrepreneur and trades in horticultural products, tea, and herbs. She serves on the board of Micro Small Enterprises Authority, the only institution mandated under the act of parliament authority in supporting the development of the below pyramid companies in Kenya.

Michael Wironen, Ph.D. - Senior Scientist Agriculture & Food Systems, The Nature Conservancy, Washington, D.C.

Dr. Michael Wironen is a Senior Scientist in The Nature Conservancy’s Center for Sustainability Science. In this role he provides technical and strategic leadership to collaborations with the agri-food sector to drive investment into the sustainable intensification of agriculture. His portfolio includes place-based projects to improve soil health, increase resource use efficiency, and protect habitat in Kenya, Brazil, Argentina, the United States, China, and India. In this role, he has collaborated with companies including Syngenta, Walmart, AB InBev, and McDonald’s. As Science Lead for the Syngenta collaboration, Dr. Wironen helped secure and structure Syngenta’s $2 billion commitment to invest in technology innovation to support sustainable agriculture. Prior to joining TNC, Dr. Wironen worked for a private consultancy, where he led sustainability and climate action projects with an array of private and public-sector clients in the US and Africa. He holds a PhD in Natural Resources Science from the University of Vermont and has published on nutrient cycling in forests and agroecosystems, among other topics.

EnglishFrançais